Ubuntu bleg

Vista. God, it sucks. And it’s installed on my second laptop.

I heart my Macbook dearly, but if it dies within the next year or so I’m not sure I can really afford to replace it straight away (this is not that improbable a scenario, sadly, even though it’s only 2 years old: in the last 6 months I’ve had to replace first the battery and then the hard drive, and now the screen has started to flicker periodically. Great OS, maybe not such great hardware).

So I’ve installed Linux Ubuntu on the other machine, so that in the event of the Macbook meltdown, I’ll have a machine that won’t entirely destroy my will to live. (At the very least, the desktop wallpaper image is fecking gorgeous.)

But of course this means a lot to learn (starting with getting wifi to work, dammit). So are there any beginners’ Ubuntu tutorials and resources that people can recommend from personal experience?

This entry was posted in Computers. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ubuntu bleg

  1. edward says:

    Mac hardware is poor: I got through 3 iBooks (well, 4 but one was stolen) all of which had logic boards which just gave up the ghost. Frustrating, because the OS was good fun.

    I therefore returned to a Windows environment, I’ve got used to Vista – I have it set up to look like old Windows and I have learned to live with the daily errors. But at least they’re not terminal errors…

  2. Brett says:

    I’ve been an IT manager for a medium-sized university department for about a decade and I wouldn’t say Apple hardware is any worse than anything else. Of course there’s no accounting for random fluctuations …

    But I mainly wanted to point out that if you like OS X but not Apple hardware, then it is possible to install OS X on a bog-standard PC. (Macs these days have Intel CPUs, so it’s not so surprising.) I’ve never tried it, but it doesn’t look too hard! See e.g. http://wiki.osx86project.org/wiki/index.php/Installation_Guides

  3. John says:

    There is an official Ubuntu book which isn’t bad, but it’s mostly a convenient distillation of the Ubuntu forums. When I first switched 3 years ago, I had a lot to learn and learned it all from the Documentation and the forums. I’m not aware of anything else more convenient.

  4. Christine says:

    help.ubuntu.com and ubuntuforums.org are very useful. If you want more support than you find there, you might consider purchasing a support package from Canonical. I bet the forums will come to your rescue, though.

  5. Sharon says:

    Thanks for the suggestions!

    I wasn’t having a go at Apple hardware in general; the MB is my first Apple computer so I’m not exactly qualified to judge… except to say that friends who’ve previously had very positive experiences with Macs have also had Macbook problems. Mine is quite an early one, and has actually done very well compared to some of the horror stories about MBs from the same period (moral of the tale: never be an early adopter…) – until this year, at any rate. If I’d had just one of these issues, well, OK. Hard drives are funny unpredictable things; the poor old battery had done a lot of hard work. It’s the accumulation of different problems in a computer that’s well under 3 years old that’s starting to get irritating.

    OS X on a PC… that looks fun…

  6. tony price says:

    Oh yes, I love my MacBook so much but it’s small and old and only runs Panther now and I’m wishing I could buy a new one but it doesn’t look as if it will happen for a while. I couldn’t cope with Windows after all this time, and the trouble with Linux is it was such hard WORK, and mostly didn’t work. I’ll be interested to see how you get on with Ubuntu, which I’ve never tried seriously.

Leave a Reply

