Play.com just got better

For CDs and DVDs, play.com is already my favourite online store (I prefer not to work out just how much money I’ve spent there in the last couple of years), but now they’re also offering DRM-free music downloads to UK residents, from 65p a track.

Anybody got any fun recommendations? Is Adele worth a listen?

This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Play.com just got better

  1. Steve says:

    No she ain’t.

    Fogeydom beckons – it’s all a bit early 70s pre punk at the moment I reckon – too dull.

    Ready for the Floor by Hot Chip is not bad, inheritors of the synth-nerd mantle.

    Monster Love from the new Goldfrapp CD is great – but that’s been leaked since November – you can find it for nowt on the PB.

  2. Sharon says:

    No, you’re right. That is just instantly forgettable. Which is why I did.

    I can contemplate fogeydom with some equanimity (think I’m probably already there really), even if early 70s doesn’t tend to rock my boat. But anyway it’ll give the competition a kick up the bum, which should be good. I don’t actually mind paying for music, but DRM pisses me right off.

  3. Sharon says:

    Also, I’ve just looked at my blocked spam comments list in Akismet: it would appear that links including the words ‘music’ and ‘downloads’ are a TOTAL SPAM MAGNET. Sheesh.

Leave a Reply

