Yes, I know I’m easily pissed off, but…

Right up there on the long, long list of things that make me grumpy?

Students who visit my website and then send me emails asking me to do their homework for them. Do they think I can’t spot what they’re up to or something?

Get stuffed, cheats.

This entry was posted in Also Noted. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Yes, I know I’m easily pissed off, but…

  1. Ancarett says:

    If any of them come from my institution let me know and I promise to put the fear of professorial wroth in them!

    I did have a seminar student, a few years back, try to pass off something from EMR as a short paper for the class. When said student was failed for the course as a result (it was a second-time plagiarism offense, to boot), let me just say that I thought it was justice well-served!

  2. zhoen says:

    Cheats are stupid, which is why they think cheating is a good idea. They’ve gotten away with it, and consider it the same as learning.

    I got caught cheating on a spelling test in 4th grade. I figured at that moment what a dumb tactic it was.

  3. What sort of things do you tend to get asked? I’ve had requests to write an essay about Oliver Cromwell before now.

    My old flatmate, who teaches history to secondary school students, had an effective tactic where his kids had plagiarised from the internet – he’d write the URL at the top of the essay with the word “detention”. The kids were always amazed that he’d found the source. They hadn’t considered that people above the age of 20 might just know how to use Google…

  4. Sharon says:

    I don’t have any specific examples to hand – I tend to delete the really annoying ones straight off – usually something relevant to my research interests (crime, violence, et al), with something recognisably ‘undergraduate essay’ in the wording. (I should add that I don’t at all mind getting interesting enquiries related to my pet subjects from genuinely keen people…)

    zhoen, one of my darker, almost-forgotten, secrets is that I cheated on a vocabulary test at school when I was about 8. (I’ve no idea why – I could beat most of the kids in the class without even bothering to make an effort.)

  5. Chris Williams says:

    Sometimes really clueless newbies would turn up on soc.history.what-if asking for someone to write their essay. We were _really_ helpful to them.

  6. sharon says:

    That’ll be a very special definition of ‘helpful’, then.

    As it happens, I have two perfect examples in my work inbox today, from OBP rather than my site. (We get quite a lot of rather clueless questions there, though mostly from wannabe family historians rather than students. Also, at work I have to send some kind of reasonably polite reply instead of ignoring them.) They’re perfect examples of what’s really annoying – they’ve clearly not read the site properly (or at all) and it’s as though they think that a site like OBP will be able to provide comprehensive answers to any question related to the 18th century, or indeed any topic that we mention even in passing anywhere on the site (the wannabe family historians seem to think we have access to every source document relating to their ancestor just because s/he turns up in a trial report). Presumably they haven’t looked at the bibliography either, because they’ll frequently ask if we know of any books on X when there are several listed with X in the bloody title (this gets even more irritating when they claim not to have been able to find any books about X). Grrr.

    (Well, that’s me let off steam for the day. Suppose I’d better do some real work now, like finding Clare some juicy 5th November crimes?)

Leave a Reply

