Just say no

Does refusing to Facebook make me some kind of Luddite?

(Apart from anything else, unless there’s a good security reason, I hate things that you have to sign up and log in to use. I have enough passwords to remember already.)

Popular culture no longer applies to me…

This entry was posted in Also Noted. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Just say no

  1. I have no desire to use Facebook, and will only get and account under my own name if my uni requires it of faculty.

  2. Gavin says:

    And (staying with Art Brut) it’s a cliche…

    I’ve got one but I only use it for band related stuff. I don’t have any academic use for it. Some of us formed a military history group but it’s not very popular so far. It seems that the main use of Facebook is communicating with people you already know. It’s not a way to make new contacts whereas blogging has introduced me to lots of new people in lots of different fields. Academic history is cliquey enough as it is, and Facebook is only likely to reinforce that.

  3. Demmy says:

    If it does, I’m one too, and proudly so.

  4. Ancarett says:

    I got onto facebook years ago when a young cousin of mine started university and wanted to maximize his “friends list”. I’ve since used it to get back in touch with a few friends from my own university days but I don’t see anything worth obsessing about in there. On the other hand, it’s interesting to see what our own students are up to in facebook!

  5. I am not on facebook but have registered at BlogCatalog which seems to be trying to be a networking site as well as a blog directory. It’s slightly creepy when strangers announce that you are now their “friend”…they could be axe murderers for all I know.

  6. PS forgot to say thanks for adding me to your Blogpicks list!

  7. Claire says:

    I’ve recently taken a liking to facebook. It’s best aspect as far as I can see is that it lets you play games like scrabble online.

  8. Conor says:

    What worries me is the grammatical role in which you position the word. Does my refusal to verb nouns Luddite me? Oh. Bugger.

  9. sharon says:

    I was trying to make a subtle and ironic comment on such Facebook crimes against the English language as “to friend”, um, nevermind…

    Must stop being a smartarse.

Leave a Reply

