What happened to the summer?

(It may still be August, but the heatwave is a distant memory here in Yorkshire.)

So, an awful lot seems to have happened since my last proper post:

I don’t live in Aberystwyth any more. OK, it’s nice to be in a place that isn’t at the end of nowhere (there are real trains! that go often! and work!), and Sheffield has a lot going for it. But. I really miss all my old places. And the bilingual Welsh/English signs. And the sea.

I work in an open-plan office with several other people. This is more than a little strange, something I haven’t done for over a decade. But, you know, this is a Good Thing, not least because I have to get my flabby arse out of the house and go do stuff every day instead of lounging about on the sofa with my laptop pretending to work working. (Especially as I don’t as yet have a sofa. I just ordered it. I’ve moved from a semi-furnished flat to an unfurnished house. My credit card hurts real bad this month.)

I may not have a sofa, but I do have a new laptop: I got a shiny MacBook. And you know, now I do get why people go on about them so much. A PC will do the job, no problem. (You should see the kickass (and yet surprisingly cheap) piece of desktop kit I just ordered at work which someone else is paying for. Nice.) But, you know, a Mac is something else again. It gives pleasure; it’s fun to work with, and very stylish. To be more practical, it’s amazingly fast and I just love its keyboard, which feels different to anything else I’ve ever typed on. Among other cool things. (The only problem is that, being as it’s one of the white ones, it doesn’t half get grubby easily, dammit.)

What else?… Oh yes, the new job. Suffice to say, I’m thoroughly enjoying myself and it’s very different, if all a bit nerve-racking. Well, no doubt there’ll be more to say about that in the months to come.

(PS: I forgot this, but at some point while I was away this blog had its second birthday.)

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What happened to the summer?

  1. Caleb says:

    Glad you’re getting settled, Sharon! And congrats on the MacBook!

  2. Alun says:

    Great to see you back. And the comment on Yorkshire weather shows you’ve gone native already! ;)

  3. tony says:

    It’s good to hear from you again Sharon – I was thinking of you last week when I was in Aber and drinking coffee at the Mecca in Chalybeate Street. And glad to hear about the Macbook – congratulations!

  4. Kristine says:

    Hey Sharon, good to hear from you again! I’m jealous of your new Macbook! I own a white iBook, and quickly found that eating chocolate while working has nasty consequences. I bought a bottle of iClean with a miracle piece of cloth at the Apple shop — it’s meant for cleaning the screen, but works wonders on the keyboard area as well!

  5. Welcome to God’s own county. You just to move a bit further east: all the rain gets emptied out over the Pennines. Most of our place names are Old Norse: won’t that do?

Leave a Reply

