Momentous News

Well, as I’ve said, I’m taking a summer holiday from blogging. I might post some photos (or put them up on my Flickr page), and there’ll be a notice about this month’s Carnivalesque to come before long, but don’t expect any real posts here for a couple of months. (Update: Well, there might be some occasional action in the miniblog…)

Two people generously offered to take over the History Carnival in my absence, and so they get to take turns. Both will be well known to some of you: Laura James of Clews will be deputising through to the 1 July issue and Another Damned Medievalist of Blogenspiel will take over from 15 July to 15 August. We have a fine line-up of hosts. Announcements about upcoming editions will be posted in various places, but if at any time you’re not sure where the next edition will be, just use the submission form to send nominations and they’ll get to the right place.

And… I have a newly acquired good reason for taking some time off blogging for a couple of months: I’m starting a new job in August. I’ll be managing two online primary source projects at the University of Sheffield’s Humanities Research Institute: The Proceedings of the Central Criminal Court 1834-1913 (a continuation of the Old Bailey Proceedings Online, of which I’m a great fan, as you may recall) and Plebeian Lives and the Making of Modern London 1690-1800. It’s going to be utterly cool. But the next two months will be more than a bit frantic.

So, have a good summer everyone, and I’ll be back in late August or September.

This entry was posted in Carnival, SiteNews. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Momentous News

  1. Alun says:

    Fantastic news! I hope you have a great summer.

  2. Rob MacD says:

    Congratulations! And enjoy your “holiday”.

  3. NDR says:

    Congratulations!

  4. Ralph Luker says:

    Hey, Sharon, what wonderful news! Thanks for lining up the Carnival hosts. Have a great summer.

  5. rob says:

    Ah, Sharon, you shall be missed. But fantastic news! The more netty history the better, I say, and there couldn’t be a better woman for the job.

    I still have to do something netty for my assessment this year, actually, so I shall email you the link when it’s done.

  6. Ancarett says:

    Super news! We’ll miss you on the blogging front but it sounds as if you’re going to be incredibly busy with all these new, exciting responsibilities.

  7. Kristine says:

    Great news, Sharon! Congratulations. Enjoy the summer, don’t work too hard, and don’t forget to visit that wonderful beach now and then!

  8. Jeremy says:

    You’ll surely be missed for the next few months, but what a fantastic job! Good luck with it!

  9. Sharon says:

    Thanks everyone!

    (Kristine, sorry it took a while for your comment to appear – the email notice to tell me there was something in moderation got eaten by my spam filters and I nearly missed it altogether…)

  10. Congratulations! Have a wonderful summer (and a smooth move!).

Leave a Reply

