Woman of the day: Sarah Throckmorton

Will of Sarah Throckmorton (from OTDS electronic resources for early modern history).

In the name of God amen, I Dame Sarah Throckmorton of Tyrley alias Trynley in the Countie of Gloucester widdow, late wife of Sir William Throckmorton knight & Baronett, being sick & weake of bodie but of perfect minde and memorie (thanks be given to God) doe make this my last will and Testament in manner and forme following. First I bequeath my soule into the handes of almighty God my maker firmly trusting yt [that] by his mercies & by ye merittes of Jesus Christ the same shalbe eternallie saved & my bodie I committ to be buried in the parish church of Tyrley afor-said. Item I give and bequeath unto my brother Giles Hall the sum of fortie shillinges if he shall come & demand it within six years after my death. Item I give & bequeath unto my sister Hester Knight the wife of Nathaniel Knight the like sum of twenty shillinges. Item I give and bequeath unto my sister Hanna Hall the summe of twenty shillinges. Item I give to my daughter Mary Throckmorton my best gowne, & my best peticoate, together with my cloke & safeguard & pilldon & all other my furniture therunto belonging. Item I give unto my daughter Frances my second best gowne & second best peticoate. Item I give and bequeath unto my brother John Hall the summe of Three pounds whom I make and ordain my Executor (in trust) of this my last will and Testament. Item I doe make my beloved friendes Edmunde Graile of the Cittie of Gloucester gent, and my brother-in-law Nathaniel Knight to be the Overseers of this my last Will and Testament and in recompense of their paines Taken I doe give unto either of them tenn shillinges. All the rest of my monies, goodes and Chattles movable & unmovable (excepting befor given and bequeathed) my debtes and legacies being first paid, and funerall expenses discharged) I give and bequeath to my fower children George, John, Mary & Frances to be equally divided amongst them & if one or more of them shall happen to die befor they be of lawfull age, my will is that all remaine to the survivers. And my will is that the lease of Pancre house & the orchard be sold, and that the remainder of the monie (my brother John Hall & my brother-in-law Nathaniell Knight being discharged from their ingagementes for me) be equally devided amongst my fower children. In wittnesse wherof I have her-unto putt my hand and seale the seventh day of May 1635.

Sarah Throckmorton

Item I give unto my Brother John Hall a Cort cubbort ye best
It. I give & bequeath to my sister Hanna Hall a trunk in the kitchin chamber. …

NB:
“safeguard” – an outer skirt, worn for riding etc
“pilldon” – could be a variant/misspelling of “pillion”, a kind of side-saddle – this would fit with “furniture”, used to refer to a horse’s harness and other trappings

Widows as marginal women in medieval and early modern Europe
Widowhood in medieval and early modern Europe (book review) (and another)
Reading list
Bibliography of medieval and early modern wills and probate inventories
Death and dying in early modern England
Interpreting the probate records of early modern England (book review)

This entry was posted in Early Modern, Resources, Women/Gender. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Woman of the day: Sarah Throckmorton

  1. In The meaning of Liff by Douglas Adams & John Lloyd (1983), a throckmorton is defined as “The soul of a departed madman: one of those now known to inhabit the timing mechanism of pop-up toasters”.

  2. I love the way such careful attention is paid to the details of every last item and person in these. And the fact that they so often seem to have been made on deathbeds (or at least within a few days or weeks of death) makes it even more amazing. Although I suppose older people at least spent a lot of pleasurable time planning it all out for when the time came.

    Just out of curiosity do you have a date? And particularly do you know how long it was between her death and her burial? (Something I’m rather obsessed with over Dame Helen Branch at the moment, since I’m puzzling over the 19 days between her death and burial.)

  3. Sharon says:

    The only date given (apart from the date of the will itself, May 1635) is that the will was proved in March 1636; perhaps someone else would have an idea how long the probate process could be expected to take? (A quick google suggests that the earliest surviving Tirley parish registers are from the 1650s, so we can’t get a burial date there.)

Leave a Reply

