Recipe suggestions?

So today in the foodie shop I convinced myself that I’d finished up my last jar of anchovy fillets in olive oil and I needed to buy some more.

This was partially true. I did finish up a jar a few weeks ago. Unfortunately I forgot the episode inbetween then and now where I already bought a replacement jar.

Good job they’ll keep. But still, if anyone has any favourite recipes for the little buggers…

This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Recipe suggestions?

  1. Kristine says:

    Pasta puttanesca is what I’d make with them, I love it — with hot peppers, black olives, capers, tomatoes, garlic and parsley. Very simple and also very spicy, I guess why they call it harlot’s pasta in Italian.

  2. rob says:

    In Real Fast Food Nigel Slater has a really good potato salad with anchovies that is just electric:
    12 medium waxy potatoes, 5 anchovy fillets, 2 teaspoons red wine vinegar, 2 tablespoons olive oil, 2 tablespoons roughly-chopped parsley, ground black pepper

    Basically, mash the anchovies with a knife, then bung it all together with the other stuff to make a dressing. Slice the potatoes, mix it up with the dressing. De-licious.

  3. edward says:

    This is just cruelty to us Ph.D. students who can barely afford sauce to put on their pasta, let alone meat :(

  4. I heard that it was puttanesca because it was made of all kinds of stuff they could keep at the ready in the brothel kitchen.

  5. Sharon says:

    Rob, I have that book (it’s a bit of a grease-spattered, bent-up fave in fact), so I’ll look it up. And I have to give puttanesca a try.

    (Sorry, Ed.)

  6. edward says:

    That’s OK. Last night I was sustained on whatever packets of nuts and crisps I could forage from the student bar (where I was working so that I can afford further pasta)

  7. Rob says:

    Neapolitans make a pasta sauce with brocoli – boiled first – and anchovies fried with garlic and chili, which is good.

  8. Sharon says:

    It sounds as though it should be. I do have one favourite recipe with purple sprouting broccoli (which I like better than standard broccoli) and (long) pasta, some mashed up anchovies and a few squeezes of lemon juice. Trouble is that purple sprouting broccoli has a very short season…

  9. Apart from the Puttanesca, anchovies are a staple of Caesar salad and Napoletana pizza. Get thee to a search engine!

  10. Sharon says:

    As my mates can tell you, I lurrrrve pizza but I’m just way too lazy to make my own (and bought pizza bases are never the same)…

Leave a Reply

