History Carnival 22

History Carnival ButtonUp at Frog in a Well Korea. Many thanks to Jonathan for putting it all together.

And now we all have a well-earned break until 15 January. (Because I said so and I’m in charge.)

Thanks to everyone who sent in nominations and volunteered to host and wrote great posts since kicking off in February. I might write something reflecting on how it’s gone over the last 11 months. It’s been interesting, yes?

This entry was posted in Carnival. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to History Carnival 22

  1. Well, I can say that Carnival 22 had a lot more help, in the form of nominations, than #6 did. I did some digging through my RSS feeds and a few other likely sources from the Blogroll, but well over half of it was nominations. On the other hand, those nominations came almost entirely from four people, five if you consider my digging a form of nomination….

  2. Caleb says:

    Thanks for getting it all started, Sharon!

    I wonder whether it would increase the number of people who nominate if the History Carnival followed the example of the new Teaching Carnival. You can nominate for that carnival by posting something to your del.icio.us page and tagging it “teaching-carnival” or by adding a Technorati tag, “teaching-carnival” to your own post. (See here and here.) That way, in addition to the emailed nominations that an editor receives, the editor of each issue has a large base of posts to choose from. And even if not all of them make the final cut, they are still available to people who want even more great teaching posts.

    I’m not sure whether these features have actually expanded the base of people who nominate for the Teaching Carnival. It appears, for instance, that only a handful of people are really posting to the del.icio.us page. But I know I would be more inclined to nominate something if I could click a bookmarklet and do it right then, instead of racking my brain when the deadline comes around for posts I’ve seen over the past two weeks.

    What do you think?

  3. Speaking of which, Teaching Carnival is up!

  4. Sharon says:

    Caleb, it’s a great idea. In fact, I sort of made a start on it about two months ago (and found that Jeremy had already quietly set up some tags for the HC). Except that I then forgot to do anything to publicise it. So the tags all exist (and for Carnivalesque too). I just need to get things more organised.

    http://del.icio.us/tag/carnivalesque
    http://del.icio.us/tag/historycarnival

    http://technorati.com/tag/carnivalesque
    http://technorati.com/tag/history+carnival

  5. Argh — teaching carnival is down — typepad seems to have lost a gajillion posts.

  6. Sharon says:

    Is that the problem? I wondered what was going on. But you can read it via the RSS feed in Bloglines. Don’t know if this will continue to work, but try it:
    http://www.bloglines.com/preview?siteid=568300

    (And, just in case, I have grabbed a copy of the whole thing and saved it as a file.)

  7. Thank goodness! I’ve posted the link and e-mailed it to people who usually publicise the carnivals.

  8. FWIW, I got very few actual nominations for the Teaching Carnival. By no means none, but not a flood – maybe 7? And only three of those were from people that I don’t “know” online – that is, folks who don’t comment on my blog/me comment on theirs. Not that many people tagged posts for it, either – most of the folks who used tags were the same folks who sent me posts. I think the thing with the Teaching Carnival is that it’s so far-reaching – there are SO many people who teach in the blogworld now. Basically I went through the month bookmarking any post I saw that was remotely related to teaching – it wasn’t hard to find a lot, and they really do fall into certain categories pretty easily. I think the History Carnivals would be harder to compile.

  9. Pingback: Early Modern Notes » AHA links

Leave a Reply

