Cleaning up

There were a number of things I might have done this afternoon. (Including catching up with my judgely duties for the awards. I am going to have to start avoiding the other judges, because they’ve been far more diligent than me.)

What I actually did was to play around some with the site templates. There was just way too much crap in the sidebars and it’s been annoying me for weeks. So they’ve been slimmed down: the archives and the main blogroll and many links are going into separate pages that you can access from the new horizontal menu bar just below the header. The sections left on the main pages may well undergo some pruning too, although I will put a selective blogroll back here at some point. (PS: Going to try out a random selection, changing with every page load. Could be amusing.)

That fun may be enough to stop me from compulsively redesigning the entire site for a few months.

Alas, I had to take down the live comment preview. It was making something very odd happen to the comment box in Firefox in longer comments.

… And I knew there was something I wanted to ask about. I’d like to put a search box in the horizontal menu, but I couldn’t seem to find a way to make it display in the same line as the links. I’m sure this is possible and I’ve seen it elsewhere. Anyone know how to do it?

This entry was posted in SiteNews. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cleaning up

  1. Jeremy says:

    Shouldn’t be too hard to do, Sharon. I’ll take a look at your code and see what we can come up with…

  2. Sharon says:

    Thanks, Jeremy. I’m sure it’s not difficult, but I just couldn’t seem to make it do it; I’m probably missing something really obvious…

  3. Brandon says:

    I like the clean-up; it works very well.

Leave a Reply

