Comfort food season

It’s time to make this again. With big chunky toast and cheese of course.

Curiously enough, according to my stats plugin, that onion soup post is among the most frequently visited on this blog, somewhere about number 6. Tells you something about how many people use the web to look for recipes, I suppose.* (After all, I do it myself. Better than a recipe book when you have a handful of assorted wilting stuff in the fridge and you want to find ways to use it all up.)

The two most popular pages, incidentally, are the ones on big words… and the history of underwear. You just never know what’s going to happen when you write these things…

………..

* And yet, on investigation, if you google “french onion soup”, the post is lurking somewhere down in the 60s. Surely no one looking for a recipe clicks through that many entries? So why it gets quite so many hits is still a bit of a mystery.

This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Comfort food season

  1. mmmmm … now I have to make some!

    Sadly, The Cookery Year came and went with X. I really miss it.

  2. Sharon says:

    That’s dreadful. OK, my X got the Queen albums, which I sometimes miss … but that’s not quite the same really.

    BTW: I made it. It was damn fine stuff. onions + butter still = good.

  3. I’m making it as I write! I need the food of comfort these days.

  4. Sharon says:

    I do believe that Nathanael is dissing the onions (at the very end of the post). Harrumph. Nice roast squash soup though.

    BTW, when Americans say “broth” in a recipe, do you mean what we’d call “stock”? I’ve tended to assume so.

  5. NDR says:

    I’m not knocking your recipe too much. It’s just that squash is the food of abudance in New England for fall and winter.

    American recipes tend to use stock and broth interchangeably, but in general stock uses gelatin (bones) for thickening. My recipe is already thick enough without it, and besides, it wouldn’t be veg.

  6. Sharon says:

    The shop usually has some butternut squash this time of year. I might give it a go (although last time I tried to roast one it didn’t really come out so well; left it in the oven too long I think). But before that, you mentioning bones just reminded me that I have a chicken carcase in the freezer; I think that ought to be turned into something tasty and soupy this weekend. Anyone have any good substantial chicken soup recipes…?

  7. One difference is the seasonings — broth is usually seasoned only with salt, whereas stock usually has some veg and herbs. At least in my world. But that may be because my cookbooks are not all Murcan, come to think of it.

Leave a Reply

