Computer excitement

Feeling all the more love for my department today: my new office computer is on the way!

OK, it’s not new exactly. But only One Careful Owner and it’s been lovingly reconditioned specially for me.

I might even go and spend more time in my office if I have a usable computer. And put up some posters and use the shelves and install some drinkable coffee and make it sort of cosy, like normal people do.

I could work towards building those architectural piles of stuff (technical term, I believe) that people hide behind when they want to be left alone.

This entry was posted in Academic Work, Computers. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Computer excitement

  1. Chris Williams says:

    You don’t use your office shelves for the overspill of books that you can’t fit in at home? Wow – are you sure you’ve got enough books?

  2. Steve says:

    I was the same when I used to “work from home” in my last job. This time round I’ve taken over a “workspace” (Jesus) from a lady, so it’s goodbye to the ferbies and aromatic gizmos and hello to ‘trailer trash’ mug mats and “decorative” minutures of Irish whiskey.

    BTW – Where is your PM link on here? I want to forward you the e-mail I’ve just found waiting for me when I got in. I’m only 35 but what does this all mean, Sharon? Is it all downhill from here?

  3. Sharon says:

    It’s in “About me” in the sidebar somewhere. I should put a mailto in there shouldn’t I? Anyway it’s sharon@earlymodernweb.org.uk (update: added it to the sidebar too. It should work)

    And yes: it is all downhill from here. Sorry.

    Chris, no, I don’t have enough books. (I blame NLW.) I’ve been working on it, ask my credit card. Mind you, I do have some expanding piles waiting expectantly for a new home; I’ve just been reluctant to use the office for overspill because I so rarely go there.

  4. Sharon says:

    To clarify: that’s expanding piles OF BOOKS. Just in case anyone should get the wrong idea.

  5. Steve says:

    Tis done. Please regard the first product at the top of the page.

    Sorry to hear about the Rockfords.

  6. Sharon says:

    Don’t you like ’em? Me, I’ve got my eye on the faux fur.

    (Not in a good way, for those who know about my penchant for things furry.)

  7. Steve says:

    Just Say No. I might as well start my own mail-order clothing company making comfortable, durable-but-stylish leisurewear based on One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest.

    “…luxurious cotton blouson in off-white, seasoned-ivory, or natural pale buff, featuring destinctive extra-long sleeves. Wipes clean …”

Leave a Reply

