Weekend reading dilemma

I’ve been hearing good things about Jasper Fforde‘s books, and just recently picked up a secondhand copy of Lost in a Good Book. But this is the second in the series. And I can’t find a copy of the first one locally right now.

So, maybe the fans can tell me: is this the kind of series where it really matters to read them in the right order? Or can you just leap in anywhere?

And if I really should wait and read the first one first, some suggestions for unserious books to read instead this weekend could be fun…

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Weekend reading dilemma

  1. Alun says:

    I enjoyed Thud! the new one from TP. It’s half price in the supermarkets at the moment. Going Postal has just gone into paperback.

    Last Chance to See by Douglas Adams and Mark Carwardine is both intelligent and funny. Definitely DNA’s best book.

    I must admit I didn’t get into Fforde.

  2. Chris Williams says:

    For almost any value of ‘unserious’, I find that _Vatican Bloodbath_ by Tommy Udo (AKA Steven Wells, I think) hits the spot. For non-fiction unseriousness, try a copy of _A Fete Worse Than Death_ by my old mucker Iain Aitch (not his real name either).

  3. Rebecca says:

    I recommend reading the Jasper Fforde books in order (and I think the first one is probably the best one).

    Fun reading rec: Charlaine Harris’ Southern Vampire Novels, which are about the telepathic waitress Sookie Stackhouse and her various supernatural experiences. They start with Dead until Dark.

  4. Kate says:

    I think you do need to read the first one in order to fully understand the set up.

  5. Sharon says:

    Thanks! I’ve ordered the first Fforde book for a future treat. I’ll look into the other suggestions.
    Though I probably ought to get down to some work this weekend. And then there’s the latest instalment of Wales v. England on the BBC this afternoon (aka the Powergen Cup) to distract me…

  6. Sharon says:

    And now the Fforde book is back in stock in the local shop. Sheesh. Got this.

Leave a Reply

