Mrs Spectator

Everyone’s favourite scribbler has set up Mrs Spectator’s Coffeehouse, using blogging software (MT) to create

a clearinghouse of online resources for researchers interested in the long 18thc.

This site is a modest attempt to gather links to online resources which concern the long 18thc. There are a number of excellent places where one can find academic or other resources, but none, as far as I know, which focus on quite this range of online resources, from small weblogs to large projects.

It’s a fledgling site at the moment, but I look forward to seeing it expand (not least for me to pinch new stuff…). You can send suggestions for sites that you think ought to be included to: jones [at] unbsj [dot] ca.

(WordPress trivia and request: just discovered, thanks to the logs in Spam Karma, that a trackback to a WP ‘Page’ (i.e, this one) won’t show up in the list of recent comments. Probably because the hack I’m using for that list predates the invention of Pages. Poo. It really is time I found a new plugin for this. Except that all the WP recent comments plugins I’ve found seem to display the first words of comments and I prefer to just have the title of the post… anyone know of one that will do that?)

This entry was posted in Early Modern, Resources. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mrs Spectator

  1. orthoclase says:

    I don’t use it, but this one
    http://blog.jodies.de/archiv/2004/11/13/recent-comments/
    looks like it will get comments from static pages, and is probably configurable

  2. Sharon says:

    If I’m reading it right, it can be configured to do what I want. And I really do like these plugins that you can play with in the admin interface. Yay! New toy to try at the weekend! Many thanks!

  3. Sharon says:

    It works! (The observant will note that I’ve also taken the opportunity to make the sidebars just a teensy bit wider.) And very easy to configure too. I’m impressed. So thanks again for that.

    But eek! Where’s me gravatar gone today?

  4. Pingback: scribblingwoman

  5. Pingback: scribblingwoman

Leave a Reply

