Back to school

American-orientated, but nonetheless useful advice for new post-grads/graduate students from Unfogged. (Found in the comment thread to this post at Crooked Timber.)

By the way, Rob is back from the webless wilderness and has just started on his MA. Hope he enjoys it as much as I enjoyed mine. (The 3-part formula that worked for me: Study-Party-Pub. But I did have to spend the first month or three of my PhD recovering. Good job the MA was just a one-year course.)

This entry was posted in Postgrads. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Back to school

  1. Chris Williams says:

    Unfogged’s advice looks largely useful, and so are the comments. Some of it, though, is bit too, er, ‘potentially inappropriate’ for me to point my new student to at this stage, though.

  2. Sharon says:

    I think that’s what one of the commenters said too… You could lift/extract/paraphrase, I suppose.

    I realised I just linked to the piece without giving the comment thread at Crooked Timber where I found it, which might also prove useful. Will update now…

  3. profgrrrrl says:

    I love this post. So funny and true, even if not for all company.

  4. Pingback: detrimental postulation » here

Leave a Reply

