Over to you

Now, I wouldn’t say that I have blog depression, or even a blog life crisis but I do seem to be in one of those phases where a lot more posts get started than finished. And I need to stop faffing and concentrate on an article that I have to put together very, very soon. So, it feels like time to take a break for a few days. Might get some photos and shallow frivolities up, and there will be carnival news, but don’t expect anything ‘serious’ until next week some time.

So, feel free to fill in the gaps. Silly quizzes, hilarious blog posts, funny pix – give us some links! And you can leave more thoughtful things for us to chew over too: links to interesting essays and newspaper stories, blogs that you think deserve more attention. And what are you reading this summer? What’s the best and worst movie you’ve seen lately?

Consider it an open thread. Over to you…

……….

PS: re my wireless woes, it finally seems to be up and running OK. The biggest stumbling block was with setting up WPA security – that turned out to be rather complicated (I think it was what went wrong last time). And my router’s installation guide was not terribly helpful. (If you’re a novice with these things, you might want to avoid D-Link (or at least the G604T; I don’t know about other models). It seems a good product technically – at a great price – but the documentation is not very good for beginners’ needs.)

This entry was posted in SiteNews. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Over to you

  1. Caleb says:

    I’ve also been experiencing the low ratio finished posts to contemplated ones. Perhaps a little break will help you get back in the swing of things!

    Glad to here you got your network up. I’ve been having wireless woes too but think they are fixed, at least for the moment. I wasn’t happy to hear of your warning me off D-Link, though. My wife’s computer is a Windows PC using a D-Link wireless card to connect to my Powerbook’s Airport network. So far, though, her card seems to be fine; it’s my Apple base station that’s been causing the problems!

  2. Sharon says:

    Not precisely warning off; I like it, seems to be a good manufacturer, I’m just a bit peeved about the amount of time I had to spend poking around online to get information that should have been in the installation guide (or was there but not very easy to understand), and I’ve come across similar comments about the quality of the documentation. (One FAQs pdf file that I got from the D-Link website gave the impression of having been translated into English by Google…)

  3. Rebecca says:

    I think maybe our blogging selves are on European time, and they understand that our blogs, like our bodies, should be ON VACATION for the duration of the dog days.

    Naturally, I’m not on vacation. But I am going to the beach tomorrow and I might never come back. :)

  4. sepoy says:

    Here is a fun read.

    Can I go on the record and state that August SUCKS? I don’t even get a break all summer. And August is only reminding me that September is almost here.

  5. Sharon says:

    Look what the PRO has just put online: Letters from the Acid Bath murderer.

  6. Jeremy says:

    The newly designed Speech Accent Archive at George Mason has been relaunched:

    http://accent.gmu.edu/

    If you want to hear what I sound like (or at least what a 21 man from my hometown sounds like) go here:

    http://accent.gmu.edu/browse_language.php?function=detail&speakerid=73

  7. Pingback: ClioWeb | Blog Archive » All We Need is Love

  8. Sharon says:

    Jeremy, that’s fun. How have the people been chosen? Is it intended to be representative of local accents? Because, that young lad from Norfolk – that is not even remotely a Norfolk accent. (But there are some beauties from Brum and Dudley. And the one from Henley is almost a cliche of upper-middle-class Home Counties…)

  9. Jeremy says:

    I’ve been wondering the same thing, I’ll have to find out.

    The little girl from Norton, Virginia (in Wise county) is priceless:

    http://accent.gmu.edu/browse_language.php?function=detail&speakerid=72

    The person who’s in charge of the project is Steven H. Weinberger, a professor in George Mason University’s English department. More about him, and the project, is in the about page:

    http://accent.gmu.edu/about.php

    The about says that “When people listen to someone speak with a different accent from their own, they notice the difference, and they may even make certain biased social judgments about the speaker,” but the site really doesn’t address this observation fully. It makes the argument that “The speech accent archive demonstrates that accents are systematic rather than merely mistaken speech.” I’m not a linguist, so I’m not sure how the “systematic” part works, but I think Weinberger wants to show that there are more similarities with accents than there are differences. I could be mistaken, and I’m not really sure how this helps with stereotyping through accents.

    It’s a pretty impressive site, and I’m sure that the person or persons from each location aren’t meant to be a “typical” speaker, though it’s hard not to get that impression.

  10. Rebecca says:

    Another Damned Medievalist has a great “Which Johnny Depp are you?” quiz on her page…that will allow at least five minutes of procrastination…

  11. Judy says:

    Excellent book on SW Anatolian Turkey at a time when the Greeks, Serbs, and Turks were getting along: Louis deBernieres’s Birds Without Wings. Enjoy!

  12. Sharon says:

    I’m Ed Wood!!

    “You definitely have your name in history, although probably not for the reason you believe. Yet you are very accepting, non-judgemental, and optimistic almost to a fault. You also have a thing for angora sweaters. How could anyone not like you?”

    That’s really funny… and not that far out, I’d like to think…

    The quiz is here.

  13. Brandon says:

    I’m Ed Wood too! I suppose I’ll have to buy an angora sweater now.

  14. Sharon says:

    Hmm, I have lots of sweaters but not actually any made of angora. Perhaps that’s an oversight I should do something about.

    Although I don’t think I’m tempted by these ones. An angora vest?!! Angora bikini, anyone!?!?! (“should not be used for swimming”…)

  15. Brandon says:

    The Angora bikini is extremely expensive and totally useless; it must be worth buying. That’s called luxury!

    I had to read the bezoars article three times to figure out what was being attributed to Rowling and what was being attributed to Linnau and Mann; apparently, her entire role in the story of the Dolls’ Heads is that she used the word. I particularly liked this passage:

    Drs Ken Linnau and Frederick Mann took on the role of JK Rowling, using clear prose to describe a curious interplay of childhood themes and dark adult doings.

    That’s stretching a rhetorical trope quite a bit just to get Rowling into the sentence somehow.

    This, however, is a very cool Harry Potter thing. (I also recommend highly the Commentary on Wilson’s website, which the article links to.

  16. I kinda wanted to be the cool traveller from “Chocolat” or maybe Captain Jack …

  17. Although I *guess* insanely sexy is ok …

  18. Sharon says:

    You’re the world’s greatest lover! Stop complaining!

    (I was really tickled at getting Ed, myself.)

    Brandon: I had to read it twice, and when I got it I couldn’t stop laughing. Someone was taking the piss, shurely. (Although I think the word I was after was ‘spurious’ rather than gratuitous. Well, that too really.) This when I was still recovering from the awesomely funny awfulness of the angora bikinis.

    Oh – silly link for the day: have I posted this one before?

  19. Caroline says:

    Why did you remove my comment?

  20. Sharon says:

    Because I thought the topic – what you get up to with your boyfriend in your angora bikini (your “softlover” email address didn’t improve my opinion, by the way) – was tasteless and inappropriate for this site. In case you hadn’t noticed, we didn’t find the angora bikinis sexy.

Leave a Reply

