Adventures with Wireless: getting there

I hate BT (OK, not really). I love the Internets.

The simple reason I could not make my router work was because I didn’t know that my usual BT ‘username’ (email address) is different from the ‘username’ you need to use to set up this sort of connection.

The reason I know this now is because there are so many support forums out there on the Internets: someone, somewhere will probably have had the same problems as you and someone else, somewhere else will have the answer.

Now all I have to do is see if I have a wireless connection when I disconnect the ethernet cable. (Anyone want to take a bet?) Oh, the suspense…

Nope. Here we go again. What fun.

GOT IT GOT IT GOT IT GOT IT!!!!!!!!!!!!

(Just gotta fix the security now. Don’t wanna get hacked now do I?)

Will have to try again later in the week. WTF is wrong with this thing?

This entry was posted in Computers. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Adventures with Wireless: getting there

  1. Sharon says:

    Anybody want to explain WEP and WPA to me in easy language? (Or point me to someone who can.) I’m staring at this screen with ‘authentication type’ and ‘encryption key’ and I don’t know what it means and the manual is not helping…

  2. Chris Williams says:

    Now I feel even better about my recent “run away! run away!” decision in the face of wireless.

    This might be a job for USENET, if you ask me. Someone’s got to have asked this question before, somewhere. May even have got the right answer as well.

  3. Sharon says:

    Well, I have done the passwords bit, fingers crossed. I still don’t quite know what it all means or what it does. I have this fear that next time I reboot the computer it’ll refuse to let me in because I messed up the passwords somewhere. Or something. (Although I think the reset button clears everything in an emergency.) Or that I haven’t done it properly and anyone could still get in.

  4. Steve says:

    Is this from a lap top (2nd computer) or your main deskbound machine?

    A mate was trying to sell me on the virtues of carrying a laptop round the house, e-mailing, listening to mp3s etc. What he totally failed to make clear is whether or not your “main” machine needs to be switched on or not. So, how’s it done?

  5. Sharon says:

    It’s a laptop, and it’s currently my only computer. (I can’t really see the point of wireless if you only had a desktop.) There’s stuff I came across about what you do if you want to hook up more than one machine which I didn’t really look at. As far as I can tell, each machine has to be wireless-enabled (i.e. with the built-in WiFi capacity or a wireless adapter plugged in, either using a USB port or a PC card) and set up to talk to the router, and then you can have several machines sharing the same router independently.

    If I’m completely wrong, somebody will probably let us know…

  6. Sharon says:

    I spoke too soon. Should not have got confident.

    Does anybody have any idea what would make it all suddenly stop working after being fine since 1 o’ clock this afternoon?

Leave a Reply

