Adventures with Wireless: Uh Oh

Attempt 1: Abject failure. I’m only here because I gave up, plugged my old kit back in and uninstalled all the new software. (So I know I can get it back if I really can’t make this thing play.)

Yes, I did read the manual, before you ask. The manual and the computer kept saying different things.

Besides, it’s perfectly normal for me to screw up installing new stuff (hardware or software) first time out. Then I work out what I was doing wrong (and yes, it usually is me) and it goes perfectly.

I hate computers. I’m going to settle down with some traditional communications technology. (A paper and then a book.) Leave the stupid computer to stew for a few hours.

This entry was posted in Computers. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Adventures with Wireless: Uh Oh

  1. Chris Williams says:

    I spent much of yesterday finally getting my broadband to work – the full story of which reflects too badly on me for me to ever tell it. Come 3pm, I got out the wireless box, glanced at the instructions, sobbed a bit, then put it back. I’ll make that particular bugger work when I have to, not when I want to.

  2. Sharon says:

    The instructions are fine. Pretty simple in fact (once I found out what PPPoE and PPPoA or whatever they are meant). But they didn’t bloody work.

    My broadband installation adventures – yes, they were interesting too. Though on that occasion the problem was not, in fact, my fault.

  3. I’m sending sympathy. I was supposed to spend this evening getting a new cheap digital camera to talk to my computer and getting an old sub-notebook computer up and running again. What did I do? Redesign my blog and clean up the blogroll. So tomorrow ….

    Good luck with yours – you deserve to succeed for even trying!

  4. Sharon says:

    If it’s Kodak, their software for making the camera and the computer talk to each other was pretty easy to install, but complete rubbish when I tried using it for some months last year. (Slow, hangs, sometimes crashes altogether. It actually got *worse* after an upgrade.) Before you fart around all day trying to install whatever comes with your camera, it might be worth just connecting them up and seeing if it finds some software already in your computer that will do the trick. I wish I’d done that in the first place with mine. It would have saved me a lot of frustration. (Even if it is evil generic M$ software.)

  5. Chris Williams says:

    Gatesian despite yourself . . . have you ever read Neal Stephenson’s _In the beginning was the command line_? This might help you to cope with your feelings of guilt over the usefulness of M$ code.

  6. Sharon says:

    It’s not so much guilt as fear of the shame when the kids with street-cred (i.e., Macs) notice what I’m up to.

    (Speaking of shameful things, does anyone know which manufacturer is responsible for those laptops with the fake-polished-wood trims that I keep seeing? Ugh.)

Leave a Reply

