Spot the msitake

This book will set you back over £200/$350.

Science Acrosss Cultures

From Alun.

(And I actually mistyped the title above quite unintentionally – getting ‘is’ the wrong way round is one I do quite often, which is a bit of a problem, being a hsitorian – but it seemed apt to leave it. It’s not as though I’m charging several hundred dollars to read my un-proofread blog.)

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Spot the msitake

  1. Alun says:

    Sometimes Amazon will display early copies of the cover that haven’t been proof-read which get corrected in press, but that mistake does appear on the actual cover of the book.

  2. Steve says:

    It’s not one of mine, anyway. The worst I ever did was describe a busy performance by a 17 year old dancer as “busty”.

    Perhaps the editor is extremely camp?

  3. Rebecca says:

    Wow. Somehow I feel less guilty about the frequent typos on my own blog…

  4. Ancarett says:

    Hah! Hahahahaha!

  5. Inevitable rule of newspapers: typographical errors will always occur in the largest possible print, in the most prominent possible space. (No one ever reads a 60-point headline; they always assume someone else did).
    I suspect this also applies in book publishing.

  6. Chris Williams says:

    I once set an exam for 350 students which asked them to compare Mussolini with Hilter. Ooops.

    My patent recipe for spotting typos is easy – print off 500 copies then distribute them. This is guaranteed to bring the giant typo cock-up to your attention, while saving fees for proof-reading.

  7. Sharon says:

    That’s why I avoid reading my published articles. (Or one of the reasons.)

    As a PS to my trouble with ‘is’, I’ve just remembered that I have slight difficulties the other way round too. But you can work out what a univeristy is, yes? Oh, and I have this strange one where if a word ends with ‘in’, I tend to add a g.

  8. Sharon says:

    Look what got sent to me, folks: Fuji Crosstown (or not). It’s everywhere! (Thanks, Ralph.)

  9. Sharon says:

    And now where we know where they took that extra S from

Leave a Reply

