Conclusions, hateful things

I cannot get this conference paper finished. It’s driving me CRAZY. Grrr.

This entry was posted in Academic Work. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Conclusions, hateful things

  1. Claire says:

    yes I’m there too. I’m wondering how not to write the same conclusion about fifty times throughout my thesis. Commodification of blah blah blah ad infinitum.

  2. Sharon says:

    Wouldn’t worry too much about that. Repetition is sort of expected in a thesis, or at least consistent variation on your key themes.

    I now pretty much have a conclusion but the stupid thing is too long. About 400 words too long, dammit.

    When I was a postgrad I used to be soooo organised (or some might say, anal) and wrote my conference papers about a month in advance. I don’t think this is progress. But then, it wasn’t supposed to take this bloody long to put together anyway.

  3. Chris Williams says:

    A jealous man writes:

    Remove the qualifications. If you’re provocative, people are in any case more liable to ask questions, then you can put them back in. Avoid looking like you’re backtracking by including the essential ‘in these cases’ at the start of the conclusions. In any case you’re on first, so you need to set down a marker that people will remember.

    Or lose the grammar altogether and knock it down to four bullet points. In any case, have a good time. Wish I was there.

  4. Sharon says:

    Oh well. ‘Tis done. I am not happy with it (for a variety of reasons), so I shall be quite happy if everyone has entirely forgotten it by lunchtime. But I’m not going to look at it again between now and Friday if I can help it.

Comments are closed.