Firefox troubles

Anybody else having or had problems with Firefox lately? It’s almost as though it’s frozen up. It won’t load pages (it just hangs – doesn’t timeout or anything), won’t even open new windows (even in Safe Mode). IE is working fine, so it wouldn’t seem to be an internet connection problem (which I thought I had for a while yesterday, but now I’m wondering if that was Firefox-related too).

And if this sounds at all familiar, what can I do about it? Do I need to reinstall or upgrade? I don’t want to have to go back to IE! (I keep looking for the tabs… And is there an equivalent of Ctrl-L in IE?)

This entry was posted in Computers. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Firefox troubles

  1. Sharon says:

    I have come across forums with other people having similar sounding issues. Shutting it down completely and restarting seems to have fixed it, for now at least. But it’s bothersome. It is my favourite browser ever and I’ve got really used to it. If it happens again, I’ll maybe try reinstalling.

  2. tony says:

    There are some sites optimised for IE which sabotage other browsers. Ah, no, I don’t know if this is actually true, but wonder if you could try clearing out your cookies or history, before going to the whole bother of reinstalling. Could be something nasty has got in.

    Good luck anyway.

  3. Sharon says:

    It reminded me that I hadn’t run an Ad-Aware check for a week or two (turned up some mild nasties), and I’ve now cleaned out the temporary internet files, history and cookies etc. We’ll see how it goes.

    I seem to recall that I was at the Telegraph site when it first went wrong, so it’s probably some evil right-wing plot against lefty bloggers.

  4. David Hadley says:

    Try this: Click on: Tools, then: Options, then: Privacy, then on: Cache, click the clear button.

    It usually works for me when strange things start to happen with Firefox.

  5. rob says:

    I think David’s right, clean all your cookies/cache/etc if you don’t do it regularly. Otherwise, an uninstall/reinstall won’t hurt you if it gets desperate, since all your bookmarks/etc will be safe. If you keep getting the problem you could try making a minor change in the version you’re using, like from firefox to the gb regionalisation version, and see if it makes any difference? In my experience all bizarre software problems have bizarre and illogical solutions such as this.

  6. Sharon says:

    Thanks everyone. If it ever strikes again, I’ll have more options to try out instead of being completely taken unawares and panicking in all directions…

  7. Jeremy says:

    I know what you mean, Sharon. Not sure about the Firefox for windows, but Firefox on my Mac has been getting pretty buggy with each upgrade. You might have some problems with any extensions, themes, or other Firefox enhancements you’ve installed (if any). I’ve noticed that the Web Developer extension didn’t work well with the last version of Firefox I had (1.0.2 I think), but it works great with version 1.0.4 (except for the Edit CSS option).

    Clearing the cache and the cookies could help, though I do it rarely with Firefox because I love how it organizes my browsing history. I rarely bookmark things anymore directly in Firefox, relying more on my browsing history (and del.icio.us).

Comments are closed.