Who else has archive fever?

I know quite a few people on my blog trail are hard at it in the archives and research libraries:

The Zombie is in the British Library at the moment (and planning on going up to Manchester, I think?). And Nathanael is in France, living it up (I think he does spend some time in the archives inbetween glugging all that wine).

Who else is doing research now, or going to be, over this summer? Tell us about it in the comments (especially if you don’t have a blog of your own to do it in). And if you are blogging it already, let us know that too.

This entry was posted in Research. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Who else has archive fever?

  1. How about virtual archive fever? I have a box of microfilm and photocopies of Old Things waiting to be read this summer. So no travel, but hopefully, lots of research. (Not that I’ve started this component of summer work yet, because it’s been so pleasant not having to be in the office at school that I’ve only been working at home! But I’ll drag myself off to the microfilm reader soon.)

  2. NDR says:

    The archives! That’s where I should be now.

  3. Chris Williams says:

    I’m on paternity leave right now (she is lovely, and looks to be doing fine provided that her big brother doesn’t hug her too brutally), but I need to be looking at the MEPO files in the PRO dealing with private payment for police services in the twentieth century.

    And I’ve got a whole pile of letters from John Syme to Police Review in my office. Mmmmm…

  4. Sharon says:

    Chris: Paternity leave, eh? Thought you’d been a bit quiet lately. Congratulations, anyway!

    NK: Microfilms definitely, absolutely count. For frustration and inconvenience (not to mention eyestrain and headaches) they’re in a class of their own. I LOATHE microfilms. (Still, you know what’s worst of all? Going to the archives and then only being allowed to see the bloody microfilms!)

    Nathanael: Stop drinking and get on with some work…!

  5. Ancarett says:

    Like New Kid, my archival material has travelled to me in microfilms and photocopies galore. I’d prefer to read the originals but the costs of travel are prohibitive (not the travel costs themselves, but finding some way to deal with the children) at this time.

    So I have a raft of stuff from the PRO (I just can’t get used to referring to it as the National Archive — give me time) and a few other sources from various libraries or the like.

    Then there’s next week’s trip to Montreal where I plan to jump forward in my historical writing and acquire some material for an article on late nineteenth century Canadian medievalism. I’ll mostly be looking at photographs there as, once again, microfilms and ILL can fill in the rest of the gaps.

  6. Does going over my thesis notes count as archival? I am planning to spend a huge part of my summer (when I’m not checking in on the online class) in the beautiful faux-Gothic reading room of Flagship U, reading everything I can get my hands on that has to do with my research. And I’ll be using folios of the MGH …

    At least, that’s the plan!

  7. eb says:

    I’m just about to start doing some research in 19th century correspondence (mainly business and politics). With some business and court records thrown in too, probably. I’m not sure how much I’m going to blog about it, though.

  8. Chris Williams says:

    Microfilm is lovely compared to microcard. Which is a shame cos my local source of HMIC reports is on microcard. Yuk Yuk Yuk.

  9. Escalus says:

    I have had my first archive rage attack of the summer (supressed, as it doesn’t help the research). I have now learnt that there is no point in leaving voice mail messages at TNA/PRO.

    On a completely different topic (if that is permitted) I may be imagining it but it seems to me that conference calls for paper are being extended more than usual and I have been approached by organisers for contact details of people they are trying to recruit to give papers. Am I imagining it, and if not what does it signify?

  10. gzombie says:

    Yup, I’ll be going to the Methodist Archives Research Centre in about a week. Stay tuned for all the exciting details.

Comments are closed.