Foucault’s Pendulum

This is more of a note to remind me about it than an announcement for anyone else’s benefit, but if you’re into Umberto Eco, there’s going to be a blog-event-book-discussion type thing of Foucault’s Pendulum (if you were crazy enough to read The Da Vinci Code, this is the antidote you need) at Europhobia later this month.

This entry was posted in Blogs, Books. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Foucault’s Pendulum

  1. Sharon says:

    Except that I’ve discovered that I was mistaken in thinking that I actually have a copy of FP. And it’s not in the town library at the moment. Will have to go book shopping. What a hardship, eh…

  2. Damn. I hate when that happens! Oddly enough, I was packing books the other day (OK, that’s not odd) and saw my copy of FP, and thought, “I really should read that some day …”

  3. Sharon says:

    Went online, didn’t buy FP (on second thoughts, decided to check out local bookshops first), but did pick up two out-of-print Welsh history books going cheap that I’ve been wanting for a while. I love the Internet.

  4. Jeremy says:

    I had never heard of this book. I’ll have to check it out. I’m also interested in the “blog-event-book-discussion” format…I’m sure there have been others…can you suggest some others? It seems like a more formal discussion than traditional blogging, though I may be wrong. I’ve also heard of conferences being held through blogging, though I’ve never looked into them either.

  5. Sharon says:

    It’s a terrific book. I do recommend it, whether you go visit the blog discussion on the 20th or not. It’s the first time he’s done it, so quite how it’ll work out is anybody’s guess. (Knowing the blog, it’s unlikely to be terribly formal.) I think I’ve recently come across reading group blogs (I bet Miriam J would know… if she weren’t gadding about on holiday). And I’m pretty sure I’ve seen at least one lit-blogger announce an intent to do something like this, but I don’t think it was one I visit regularly and I can’t remember any details…

  6. Nosemonkey says:

    It certainly won’t be formal – largely because I lent my copy of the bloody thing to someone last weekend, forgetting I’d got this discussion thing planned, and so won’t be able to consult specific passages…

    Actually, “planned” is too strong a word. I have no idea what (if anything) will happen. It’s just a damn good book, that’s all. More people should read it, and I’m intrigued to see what bits of it other people like. I’ll see how it goes.

  7. rob says:

    Speaking of reading group blogging, the fratboys at Unfogged (BitchPhD’s coinage, but I can’t get enough of it) are taking a serious moment or two to have a reading group on Heidegger’s Being and Time. Bold or crazy? Either way it should be fun.

    See here and elsewhere on the frontpage.

  8. Kate says:

    FP is a great book. It’s also a good size for thwocking round the head anyone you see reading the Da Vinci Code….

  9. Sharon says:

    The current paperback edition of FP in the local bookshop is astonishingly small. It doesn’t seem right somehow when you know how much is packed in there.

    (In other book news, I’ve finished JS and Mr N, after some delays. So I might well be moving on to FP this weekend.)

  10. Diana says:

    I’m bewildered, (no change there.) Haven’t checked this site for a few days, and what do I see? The very day I email about daV C and Foucaults Pendulum you have already got it on your site! Alun, I don’t know about your ghosts that you don’t believe in, but this has got me really spooked! Am I reading your mind or do I just not need the Internet to read your site any more?

  11. Sharon says:

    Is that meant for me or Alun? I’m a bit confused now too…

    (You know, I’ve just noticed that I deleted the bit of code in the posts that tells readers who posted them, and I don’t think there’s anything obvious on the page to say who’s responsible for the blog. OK, you can follow the About Me link, but I probably ought to do something about this.)

Comments are closed.