My Viking name

I am now “Þórný , the One who will be killed before the opening credits start when Hollywood makes the movie version of this raid”. (NB: Þ is the letter ‘thorn’, pronounced th.)

Thanks to Alun for the Viking name generator.

This entry was posted in Frivolity. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My Viking name

  1. Apparently, I’m Gróa Saxonsbane.

  2. Ralph Luker says:

    Does that mean ADM is bane of the Saxons? I tried several alternatives and came up as either: Eystein the Angry or Hrolf the Berserk.

  3. That would make so much sense, considering what my specialty is!

  4. Sharon says:

    Ralph, do I see a pattern emerging? ;)

  5. Escalus says:

    Yes, thorn is pronounced as ‘th’ except that in early modern England ‘th’ was pronounced as ‘t’ or so I am told. It seems that Ye Olde Tearoom is not pronounced ‘The Old Tearoom’ but Te Old Tearoom, as it is still in the better parts of Yorkshire.

  6. david tiley says:

    Mine is Ásbjórn the Ill-starred.

    That’s the Viking version of Marvin the Paranoid Android.

    Sheesh.

  7. Pingback: BARISTA

  8. david tiley says:

    ADM – do you play the saxonphone?

  9. Nope — it’s academically appropriate!

  10. Sharon says:

    Dave, I don’t know whether I ought to have you banned for perpetrating such an awesomely bad pun. Or give you an award.

Comments are closed.