I’d go for this job (if I didn’t already have one)

Research Assistant, ESRC-funded project on status and worth in early modern England. You get to poke around in church court records! (Well, I’d enjoy it anyway.)

Applications are invited for one full time Research Assistant to work on an ESRC funded project on perceptions of worth and social status in early modern England. The applicant will work with Dr Alexandra Shepard to collect material from church court records held in a number of local record offices, to compile a database from it, and to co-author an article on the distribution of wealth and poverty in early modern England. The appointment will be for 18 months from September 2005, though the start date may be flexible.

Candidates should have a PhD in History or a cognate discipline, familiarity with early modern primary sources and palaeography, and experience of compiling datasets (preferably using a relational database). Experience of working with early modern church court records is desirable but not essential. The post is available initially at spine point 6 on the Research Assistant scale (currently £21,640).

I only need to add that Alexandra Shepard is the author of a book on manhood in early modern England that I like very much indeed.

This entry was posted in Early Modern, Jobs/Funding. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’d go for this job (if I didn’t already have one)

  1. Damn. I’d even apply for it. Except my paleography is shite. Oddly enough, I do have some experience with things early modern and churchy — if you count really later medieval through Elizabeth …

  2. Ancarett says:

    I think it would be a wonderful opportunity for someone. I’m just reading Shepard’s article in the latest issue of JBS. . . .

  3. Sharon says:

    Ooh, haven’t seen that yet. I’ll look it up.

    ADM, the key with palaeography is really just practice. Mind you, some church court records can be horrible (Act Books, ugh. Cause papers, not too bad).

  4. Yeah — I guess that it’s mostly because almost everything I use is beautifully edited by dead Germans and Brits (or really old ones). I’ve just never had to worry about palaeography much. I wasn’t bad at it when I took a class, but can’t really remember the abbreviations …

Comments are closed.