Much worse than submitting the PhD

Today I got my book manuscript off to the editors.

Finally. I have spent weeks making excuses and not getting it finished. (‘Just need to do this… Too busy… It can wait a few more days…’) But basically I didn’t want to let go.

I am an idiot.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Much worse than submitting the PhD

  1. Chris Brooke says:

    Many, many congratulations!

    Chris (just back from celebrating with a friend who had with PhD viva earlier this afternoon, and who is wrestling with a book manuscript this year…)

  2. Sharon says:

    Thanks. Long way to go though.

    My feeling with the PhD was more like: right, I’ve had enough of this now, I want it gone, and if the examiners don’t like it, tough. And then when it came to revising it to make a book, I didn’t want to go back to it AT ALL. And now I can hardly bear to hand it over. (It’s terrible! They’ll think I’m a moron! Or, what if they want me to totally rewrite it?) Talk about ups and downs.

    I’m having a few glasses of wine to settle my nerves/celebrate, anyway. I also shipped my students’ essays today. I shall be in the archives very soon..!

  3. Good for you! Now that you’ve done it, Can I start asking for advice on how to do it myself?

  4. Sharon says:

    I hardly dare say this in a public place where my editors might just conceivably pick up on it, but I might not be the best person to ask. I mean, I just got the MS off about 3 months later than I originally said I would… And I’ve been really bad about little things like keeping in touch with them… OK, I gather this is not entirely unusual behaviour amongst academics, but I don’t think it’s very impressive.

    It’s quite possible that in the morning when I sober up I may delete this comment altogether as incriminating evidence. I can try to come up with some more intelligent/useful comments later.

  5. THIS is a Research I uni?! says:

    CONGRATULATIONS!! And believe me, a three-month delay in submitting a book MS is *nothing*… In fact, in my discipline it might even be considered early!

  6. Ralph Luker says:

    Congratulations, Sharon!

  7. Claire says:

    I know what you mean about letting things out of your hands. When you’ve still got it there’s always the potential to improve it, but once they’ve got it. . . congratulations!

  8. Lorianne says:

    Congratulations! I must say your blogpost title made my blood run cold, though. :-)

Comments are closed.