Outage and panic attacks

That feeling of panic when you can’t get in… Did I pay my fees? Have I broken something? Eek!

An email to the host brought a speedy reply, however: a “user account has been launching an attack on another server” and they needed to suspend the server for a while to investigate it. Crikey.

And here we are again, up and running. (Update: in fact, it still seems to be going on and off a bit. Ah, well.) Sorry for any inconvenience if you’ve been trying to visit. But perhaps the scariest thing is realising just how important this site has become to me, and how lost I’d be without it. What would we all do if the Internet died?

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Outage and panic attacks

  1. rob says:

    What would we all do if the Internet died?

    I remember having a similar sinking feeling when Google went down the other evening. In answer to your question: Teletext, which a friend of mine calls “the poor man’s internet.” Not only does it provide great content, but it also breeds patience.

  2. Sharon says:

    Teletext is another of those things that troubles me about the switchover to digital telly. Because the digital replacement for Teletext is absolute shite so far. And as far as I know it doesn’t even have a replacement for Krazies’ Korner – sorry, I mean the letters page.

  3. Chris Williams says:

    Some bastard nicked my card details this morning as well. Obviously a sign of impending social breakdown, Singularity, or perhaps the Rapture.

    If the internet died I would go to the pub, pausing only to arrange childcare.

  4. Steve says:

    What would we all do if the Internet died?

    I’d have to make do with an ordinary radio.

  5. Hey, if the internet died, we’d still have the other one …

  6. Melinama says:

    There I was in the hospital trying to take care of my son after his surgery, I slept there for three nights with him, and in the back of my mind I was wondering: “how am I going to avoid missing a day on my blog?” I guess that means it’s time to miss a day.

  7. Claire says:

    Bloggers would read their thoughts out loud on street corners and the world would be a better place.

Comments are closed.