Hyn sydd i dystio bod…

(This is to certify that…)

It’s been more than a year since I attended any Welsh courses (what with spending several months in London and then getting distracted by teaching), but this morning I got a certificate from the South West Wales Open College Network. Woo hoo! I might think that my struggles with Cymraeg have pretty much stalled, but I have achieved 6 credits at level 2 (6 credydau ar lefel dau), whatever that might mean. (This is for the session 2003/4; let no one accuse these people of efficiency, eh?)

I may well do Wlpan Awst again this summer, but I suspect that I’m going to have to go back to Beginners level. Which is depressing.

And, given the remoteness of my chances of being able to stay in Wales after autumn next year (when this job ends), I’m not entirely sure why I’m still trying to do it at all.

This entry was posted in Wales. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hyn sydd i dystio bod…

  1. Larry Karson says:

    Llongyfarchiadau! And as Gandi is quoted as saying, “Whatever you do may seem insignificant to you, but it is most important that you do it.”

  2. Sharon says:

    Diolch yn fawr!

    I find Welsh so hard, and I forget to practise, so it gets even harder… But I do like my certificate. It reminds me that when I did put in some work, it paid off. And one day I might even be able to read some of those Welsh language sources.

  3. Claire says:

    There are lots of Welsh all over the UK. You’ll find some. If you’re in scotland you could learn Gaelic.

  4. Rhys says:

    Llongyfarchiadau (hwyr!)

    Wyt ti wedi clywed am CYD(www.aber.ac.uk/~welwww/) neu Menter Iaith (www.mentrau-iaith.com)

    Also if you have acces to the South Ceredigion area, you might find the following usefull: http://www.dysgu.com

  5. Sharon says:

    Diolch yn fawr! Dw i’n gwybod am Aber CYD. (And one of these days I might even start going.)

Comments are closed.