History Carnival #8

Phew! It’s here! And it’s huge!

Thanks both to Saint Nate for doing such a great job and to all those of you who sent in suggestions.

And I’m doing the next one on 1 June, though it’ll be over at Cliopatria rather than here. (I have to ensure that I do post something there from time to time so they don’t throw me out for idleness, you know.) Emails to: sharon AT earlymodernweb.org.uk

………..

And that reminds me about Carnivalesque. Yes, a host is needed for July, but I’m still thinking about the suggestions last week in response to the question ‘where next?’. I still welcome your thoughts on this.

The main suggestions so far:

1. Make it a medieval and early modern carnival – say, 1000-1750.

2. Make it more interdisciplinary (particularly bringing in disciplines closely related to history; literature, art, archaeology, philosophy).

3. Make it monthly and alternate between ‘early modern’ and ‘pre-modern’ (up to about 1400, including ancient history). (I’ll point out right now that if this is going to happen, I’ll need a collaborator to co-ordinate the pre-modern issues. I’m not doing it on my own. Come to think of it, if we do go medieval, I might want a partner anyway…)

Leave your comments here; but I’d also be grateful if medievalists could pass the word along. I know there are a lot of you out there, and your feedback on this is particularly important to me.

This entry was posted in Carnival. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to History Carnival #8

  1. I like the idea of the alternating focus, and I think it’s well nigh time for an independent medieval or pre-modern carnival.

    I thought Carnivalesque already was pretty interdisciplinary: certainly good doses of philosophy and theology and literature always seem to be included. I like that broader mandate when period studies are involved: like area studies and ethnic studies, multi-disciplinary study is necessary to make fuller sense of these epochs. Makes it more work for the hosts, but also should help draw more disparate groups (which shouldn’t be, given their fields of study) together.

  2. Definitely liking the idea of getting more Late Antiquity/Early Medieval on the web …

Comments are closed.