In language I can understand, does anybody know what a 412 error is? It’s cropping up in my link checking report and I’ve never heard of it before. I’ve googled it but am not sure I get what they’re talking about. It doesn’t actually seem to prevent any pages loading. (Is it serious?)

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 412?

  1. Kirrily Robert says:

    Error codes for web servers are defined in RFC 2068, a document published by the Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF). The RFC can be found at http://www.ietf.org/rfc/rfc2068.txt

    But in short, 412 stands for “Precondition Failed”, and is extremely rare (I’ve never seen it in 10 years of doing this stuff professionally), and unless you’re getting huge numbers of them, I’d just ignore it. If you *are* getting huge numbers of them, talk to your hosting provider — it may be some wacky configuration on their web servers, or something. I dunno.

  2. rob says:

    Some sense, with a list of possible solutions, but still in geekspeak unfortunately. Basically, it’s a really rare error, and means that when you (or your browser) have requested access to a page, in some aspect of that request you’ve breached one of the “rules”, as its nicely put, (“preconditions”) of the server allowing you access. This is because you don’t just send the request, you send all kinds of other little bits of data to the server (we’ve discussed environment variables before, I think! it’s those).

    Not really serious, and almost certainly a problem with your end rather than the server. It’s possible that it involves your firewall, if you’re using one, for example, or spyware, so run an AdAware check if you haven’t already. The best thing to do would be to email your hosting company about it, since they would probably be able to find out which precondition you failed if they really put their mind to it, and they’d probably relish a problem so mental.

  3. fist says:

    It’s not a 404 eight times in a row, then.

  4. Sharon says:

    So far, it only seems to have happened on links from the EMN page(s). But it did crop up 2 or 3 times on one page. I’ll check a bit further later. I’ve done an anti-spy sweep which came up clean, but I might want to try out AdAware too.

  5. Sharon says:

    Well, AdAware caught a few little beasties that the other software had missed. It didn’t make any difference, though. I have 3 links on the EMN mainpage getting the 412s (one is the WordPress link, 2 are blogs – but as I say, it doesn’t seem to stop them loading). I’ve yet to find any in any of the (static html) EMR pages. So I don’t think I’m going to be losing sleep over it, but it does seem curious.

Comments are closed.