Jobs I hate

Because I let it all pile up: spending all afternoon putting bibliographical stuff into EndNote. I am so bored. (And if I’m bored doing it, I don’t see why you shouldn’t be bored reading about it.)

Because I let it all pile up, 2: filing. Oh yes, I shall soon be even more bored.

More piles of stuff: I have to clear my desk. I might even follow the profgrrl’s example and start using it again properly.

This entry was posted in Academic Work. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Jobs I hate

  1. Hee – I’m reading this from my office at school, which I’m “cleaning” (which is in quotes b/c as you can tell, really I’m reading blogs…). It really needs to be cleaned, though!

  2. Sharon says:

    My office on campus is quite tidy.

    But that’s probably got something to do with the fact that I hardly ever use it, specially now I’ve got broadband at home (if they’d get me a computer that works, I’d spend more time there). Although as I’ve been doing some teaching this semester it has acquired the beginnings of a collection of empty takeaway coffee containers and pastry crumb decorations to the floor and there will no doubt be some more by the time I’ve finished marking this week.

  3. profgrrrrl says:

    Hee hee. Yes, if I cleaned my office on campus it would stay very tidy as well. Who wants to work there in the windowless chamber?

  4. I do not understand note programs at all. I downloaded Scribe, and still am all confused. Of course, this might be that I never learned how to do note cards …

  5. Sharon says:

    ADM: I don’t know Scribe, but I find EndNote fairly easy to work with, though I do tend to stick to using it in a pretty basic way. These things can take a bit of getting used to to begin with but are generally worth sticking with. (And it is important to have *helpful* Help files when you’re getting started, I find.)

    profgrrl: I do actually have plenty of window and a sea view (only partially blocked by ugly highrise building just down the hill). But there is one downside to that – it faces west and it turns into an oven on summer afternoons…

  6. Danny says:

    I spent most of last weekend catching up on my EndNote backlog. It’s awfully boring, but I tell myself that it needs to get done at some point and it’s just going to get worse. That motivates me for about an hour. Then I’m back on the internet catching up on blogs and wandering around Wikipedia.

  7. Sharon says:

    You managed to stay motivated for a whole hour?!

Comments are closed.