How is it for you, part 2

At the risk of becoming very boring, I’ve fixed most of the bugs (I’m very grateful to Jeremy for his help) in the theme. But there are still a few and if anyone has any ideas about them, please let me know.

ADM, are you still having the problem you mentioned on the main page (but not in individual pages)?

I don’t know if ADM is using IE, but it’s been giving me all sorts of trouble right from the start. It would push the sidebar down to the bottom of the screen below the main column when Firefox was fine. It still doesn’t miniaturise properly, and I’ve discovered that it also breaks when pages contain photos over a certain width. Miniaturise the screen in IE when you have a photo on the page and you don’t have a hope in hell of retaining the layout. (Mind you, the way Firefox deals with photos on miniaturising looks a bit strange… Ah: just discovered what the overflow tag does, and why IE is useless at this. Using overflow:hidden seems to fix the problem. Mm, watch that learning curve.

The general unsatisfactoriness of this leads me to wonder: given that I’m using a fluid column layout, is there any (fairly straightforward) way of getting images to dynamically resize on a page to go with that?

This entry was posted in SiteNews. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to How is it for you, part 2

  1. Jeremy says:

    I can check into the dynamic resizing of images, but you might want to subscribe to CSS-Discuss (http://www.css-discuss.org) and send your inquiry there. Lots of CSS experts subscribe to the list and provide lots of assistance.

    Did the ENTIRE sidebar get pushed down, or only the portion that was longer than the content div?

  2. Sharon says:

    The whole sidebar. But I’m hoping that using the overflow tag has fixed it (please please please). It seems from a quick browse that there are ways to do dynamic resizing but they may need much greater expertise than mine…

  3. Yep — using IE, no longer having the problem!

  4. Sharon says:

    Yay! It worked! Although now I notice that the gravatar seems to have got slightly displaced so it’s sitting right on the edge of the column. Better find out what’s causing that, I suppose… (fixed)

  5. Jeremy says:

    I checked in Cascading Style Sheets: The Definitive Guide by Eric Meyer, and I couldn’t find any reference to resizing the images in CSS. I’m sure there’s some kind of Javascript script that might do the trick, but I wouldn’t have a clue how to implement that.

    Alternately, you could set a min-width value to your #content div, that way you left column won’t get so small that it can get smaller than the images inside it.

  6. Sharon says:

    I’ve put in a min-width and a max-width to control it both ways. (But again, no good for IE, it seems. Well, I’ve done enough for IE today. If you haven’t switched to a better browser by now, it serves you right.)

  7. It’s still fine for me

Comments are closed.