Blogrolling rolling rolling

Um, apparently there’s some kind of raging controversy in the blogosphere about blogrolls (that’s the list of links to other blogs in the left hand column, somewhere down the page, for any newbies). It’s White, Male and something or other. Oh, and The Truth Laid Bear Ecosystem is Pure Evil. Bloglines is Quite Bad too (because it tells you how many subscribers there are to each feed).

I have to say that this particular hot debate reminded me that my own (whisper) blogroll was in a bit of a state. And so the net result is: it just got longer and More Bad Mad Dangerous Thrilling and Profound than ever. (Sorry, my TTLB link is still there too, near the bottom of the left hand column.) A deep dark mirror into my diseased blogging soul.

Bugger, now I’ve turned on Sarcasm Mode, I’m having trouble turning it off again. Look: I have a blogroll because it’s useful, I’m keeping it, it’s not such a mess now, and you might even find something you like if you visit a few of the links. (But don’t assume that I love everything there with equal passion and visit them all religiously every day.)

It’s amazing the things bloggers can get worked up about.

This entry was posted in SiteNews. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Blogrolling rolling rolling

  1. Melinama says:

    I like blogrolls. I think they’re friendly, and like a community, and they are the means by which I find new blogs to like.

  2. Simon says:

    I really, really, really wish we (humanity in general) could grow up.

  3. rob says:

    Hang on, you mean you’re meant to update blogrolls?

  4. Sharon says:

    Melinama, exactly. That’s why I found that particular rant so bizarre. (Although I don’t browse through blogrolls as often as I used to; too many blogs to read already and not enough hours in the day! But plenty of people do; I think they’re particularly important for newcomers to find their way around. These days, I often find new blogs by following the links to people who make interesting comments at this and other blogs – I think I found you at scribblingwoman’s blog that way.)

  5. Jeremy says:

    And I just added a blogroll to my site. Well, it was already there in a links page, but I ended up putting it on my homepage. I still need to update it.

    There have been som heated debates in the web design community about blogrolls. Dave Shea at Mezzoblue explored the idea of comment highlighting “experts” on his blogroll. Essentially, he wrote a script that would highlights any comments on his posts that were written by people on his blogroll. Lots of people (who were, of course, NOT on his blogroll) protested. He still does comment highlighting, but not in the way that he initially proposed it. It’s a pretty cool idea, but I’m too lazy and ignorant to implement it myself. Plus, I don’t get that many comments anyways.

    I can respect the arguments against blogrolls. It somewhat like the argument that page ranking on Google creates a “rich get richer, poor get poorer” effect. But I have a blogroll precisely because of the reasons Sharon states in her post and others have said in their comments here. It’s about community, blogs you enjoy reading, and blogs relevant to your own.

  6. I posted my thoughts at Scribblingwoman.

  7. Sharon says:

    I’ve just discovered that there’s also a pretty heated controversy among WP’ers over fluid v fixed width columns…

  8. Jeremy says:

    Yeah, the fixed v. fluid width thing comes up every now and then. It (for me anyways) makes my eyes glaze over quicker than the blogroll debates.

  9. Not only have I found blogrolls to be incredibly useful for myself, but I receive a significant number of visitors from others’ blogrolls (including yours and the one on Cliopatra). Anyone who claims that blogrolls hurt the “small” bloggers has forgotten what it is like to be a small, and comparatively new, blogger.

    Thanks for keeping up your blogroll; I really should expand mine.

  10. Lisa Roy Vox says:

    Oh, the blogroll bias debate. Funny, that debate was rearing its ugly head when I began blogging in Feb. of this year, and it just never stops does it? I have in my blogroll a couple of links to websites that make a point of compiling lists of non white and/or male bloggers they can find etc. and that’s just my implicit way of giving it a nod without engaging in it. Other than that, I just link to blogs I like, visit regularly, or visit periodically. I don’t link to the most popular, well known blogs like the Instapundit etc. At any rate these blogroll debates seem like conversations that go nowhere with only anecdotal evidence to back up either side….

    But yes, I would agree on the usage of blogrolls–they help establish you as part of a community at the very least (what bloggers do you read or see yourself similar to?)–and I click on them on other people’s sites to find blogs and they certainly drive traffic to my site as well.

Comments are closed.