Carnivalesque is here

Carnivalesque #5 has been posted at Rhine River. It is a true cornucopeia of blogging related to the early modern period; I’m delighted at all the weekend reading Nathanael has provided for us. Go read.

You will, when you’ve got through all of its delights, notice two little appendices. Firstly, I’m still looking for a host for the next Carnivalesque, probably early in July.

But before making any decisions on that, you’ll see that there is a request for your thoughts on the future of Carnivalesque. While I’m thrilled at the size and quality of this edition, I feel this is a good time to ask: it worth continuing, given that the History Carnival is now running twice a month and the numbers of carnivals continue ever to expand? And if so, in what form?

There are two main suggestions. The first is to expand the chronological coverage further back, to focus on 1000-1750 AD, and bring in those blogging medievalists. The second is to be more consciously interdisciplinary – to encourage input from literary scholars, philosophers and theologians in particular. But if you have any other ideas, this is the time to have your say.

I would really like to hear from you. You can comment here or over at the carnival itself, or you can email me privately: sharon AT earlymodernweb.org.uk (which is also the address for offers to host!).

This entry was posted in Carnival, Early Modern. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Carnivalesque is here

  1. Melinama says:

    As I wrote “over there,” I like Carnivalesque. There is room for many carnivals, each has a different flavor and each points us in a different direction, with different commentary. As long as you have people to host it, why not???

  2. Claire says:

    I don’t know. There is an overlap between the History carnival and the Early Modern carnival. How interdisciplinary is the current circle of early modern bloggers? I don’t recall, for instance, having seen any archaeologists. When I originally tried to set up that early modern group blog last year I imagined making contact with early modernists from other countries, like Korea and Japan. It’d be very interesting because from I’ve heard some things that happened in 17th-century Korea loosely echo things that happened here. What we would need is someone with language ability and the time to look, who can search out early modern bloggers outside the English language blogosphere. There certainly seem to be quite a few Portuguese early modern bloggers.

  3. I like the History Carnival, and Carnivalesque. Where my interests divide, though, is that I would like it to be more concentrated towards history and historians (and the most traditionally related disciplines, like archaeology, Classics, and art history — with maybe lit thrown in). I don’t know that the overlaps are that problematic, though. Maybe we could just cut them down to one of each (or just one, alternating) per month? Say a general History and a pre-modern carnival?

Comments are closed.