Things you never thought you’d find yourself saying

(While watching the news)

“Can we get on to the election coverage now, please?”

(Update: as ever, I’m probably in the minority. I gather from comments at the Virtual Stoa that the Beeb website crashed shortly after the announcement…)

This entry was posted in News. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Things you never thought you’d find yourself saying

  1. Chris Brooke says:

    Shame!

    I had the opposite reaction: when the BBC went over to election news at 6.05pm, I was muttering, “Already? I want more PopeNews”.

    Admittedly, there wasn’t much PopeNews at 6.05pm, just two names, JR and B16.

  2. rob says:

    Hehe, I know exactly what you mean. Those 915,497 mass-attending Catholics are sure getting a lot for their licence fee, lucky buggers. At one point I was tempted to put a bet on, just so that I’d have some kind of serious emotional engagement with the news when this day came.

    Incidentally, this might sound a bit presumptious, but the timestamps on your posts seem a bit mental. Or has the Assembly decided to opt-out of Greenwich’s chronological hegemony?

  3. Sharon says:

    I was watching C4. (Yes, the time stamp was buggered; I hadn’t noticed that I’d knocked the clock on an extra hour…) Admittedly in the end it was ‘only’ about 20 minutes. I went and did the washing up.

    Now I’m going to do smoked cod and potato bake.

    I think I fixed the times, but now the comments seem to be in a different order to how they started. I’m sure Chris’s came in first. I’m confused…

  4. rob says:

    Ignore what I said about timestamps, it looks fine now…

  5. Sharon says:

    I need to install the plugin that automatically adjusts the clock when the clocks go back and forward. I messed up when I did it manually, I think (which means it’s been like that for several weeks, oops). Hopefully it will stay right now.

    Aargh, they’ve started on it again! Definitely going to go cook.

  6. Ralph Luker says:

    Can the popestuff be any worse than the Charles’n’Camilla stuff?

  7. Sharon says:

    Don’t remind me of the hours they spent speculating on whether the wedding was going to be postponed because of the pope’s funeral! Aaargh!!

  8. Steve says:

    Things you never thought you’d say…

    “I’ll say one thing about the pope: he makes the trains run on time.”

    “I wonder if Elvis can knock Tony Christie off the top of the charts.”

    To hear the greatest radio presenter of all time, bar none, go here (till 2am Wednesday so you’ve got 3 hours to go)
    http://www.key103.co.uk/nav?action=home&id=1002&station=KEY103FM

    and click the “listen live” link at the top of the page.

  9. Sharon says:

    “You are almost by accident nearly touching on a valid point there.”

    Now he’s having trouble with his buttons. Oh, and his traditional way of life is being eroded…

    WTFF?

  10. Steve says:

    Stay with it – you won’t be disappointed.

  11. Sharon says:

    OK.

    Caller: “I’m not a racist -”

    Host: “Nobody ever is.”

    What a line. I could get hooked here.

  12. Steve says:

    This is a link to an old JHR 3 hour show from 1999. He was on TalkSport. He starts with a pop at the owner Rupert Murdoch, which probably tells you everything you need to know about him. It’s split into 4 real audio bits to listen to at your leisure. There’ll never be another!

    http://www.yagibare.co.uk/jhr/

Comments are closed.