Around Aberystwyth II

A few pictures before I go out for the day.

There is a great tradition around these parts of painting shops and houses (which are mostly stone built) bright colours. It has a practical purpose; it’s surprising how much damp (big issue by the seaside) a couple of coats of heavy-duty waterproof paint will keep out. But it looks darned pretty too. Imagine whole rows of houses all in different colours.

shops

And here are two of my favourite shops; food for the body and the soul…

ystwyth books

deli

(this is the best photo I could get, since the traffic was getting busy. Well, I did at one point have a perfect clear shot… except that a bloody cyclist came whizzing straight in front of me on the pavement just as I pressed the button. Grr)

This entry was posted in Holiday blogging, Photos and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.