EMR Update

Early Modern Resources has been around quite a while now, and it showed. The site design went back to a more innocent time (c.2001…) when an “olde-worlde” palette wasn’t quite as yawny for a historical site as it is now. And so I’ve given it a complete overhaul; please do feel free to report any problems you encounter. [If it looks strange, try first doing a 'hard' refresh, Ctrl+F5, to clear your browser cache.] Also, I’m very grateful to friends on Twitter who gave me rapid feedback on the new design!

The problem with doing an update of the look of a site is that you start noticing outdated content too. Aargh. I’ll be spending some time going through the site over the next month or two and giving it all a bit of a cleanup. I’ll probably be removing a few old low-quality resources, especially if they haven’t been updated in a long time. Back in the early 2000s there was so little quality early modern material online that I’d often include sites just for the sake of having something on a significant topic. I think it’s time to raise standards a little from those days.

I’ve also noticed some material that used to be freely accessible on university websites but has now become restricted to their own students. A very regrettable development, I think. I’ll be removing anything like this as well.

And I’ll also be doing something about the rather shameful fact that there are at least 80 resources under the label ‘Americas’ which I’ve never got around to subdividing more helpfully!

Finally, I’ve added an important new Primary Sources category, ‘Editions‘. This is specifically for (textual) primary sources that are suitable for scholarly historical research: at a minimum this means full transcriptions and/or scanned images, rather than extracts or selections from original sources, and ideally fully searchable and accompanied by contextual background material and information about project methodology. Compared to those early days a decade ago, it’s amazing just how many of them there are now, and not all are as well known as they ought to be.

Leave a Reply

