Slightly downsized me this week

Standard

Well, it’s been a bit quiet here lately. Recently this has been mostly because I was spending a few days as a guest of the NHS to get rid of this little bugger. (Google tells me that Youtube has some video. Having already heard the surgeon’s detailed explanation of what he was going to do to me, I’m really not sure I want to look…) All gone well, and now I’m back at home, it’s not a bad time to be skiving off work for a couple of weeks and surfing blogs all day, now is it?

Whatever happens next Tuesday, there is something rather wonderful about observing the great wingnut-blogger meltdown. Although some of it is not really safe for reading when you’ve got holes in your tummy and the district nurse hasn’t been round to take out the little staples yet. Laugh-Sting-Ouch. So much to choose from, but Jon Swift’s Great Moments in Election-Year Blogging should be remembered as a true classic.

So much lunacy in one short season…

7 thoughts on “Slightly downsized me this week

  1. Thanks for the heads up on the Swift blog. As a qualified eejit, I have no idea what a wingnut blog is but I’m OK with that. That shows lack of ambition doesn’t it? Ah well…

    Get well soon, missus. Try to avoid apoplexy at daytime telly.

  2. Daytime telly? Saw bits of that from the hospital bed (hard to avoid entirely when everyone else on the ward is watching). Not good for the blood pressure or brain cells.

    Oh yeah: Wingnut (in a nutshell). You know ‘em.

  3. I’m glad you’re well on your way to recovery but I’m sorry that you’re confined to bed with so much craziness to suck you in from all the media. Just a few days to hang on. . . .

  4. Get well soon. I hope it was the Hallamshire you were in – the telly may be annoying, but the view is great.

  5. Chris: it was indeed.

    Janice: fortunately, I’m not stuck in bed. Mind you, if it doesn’t stop bloody raining soon I might go back there.

    Laughing is getting much less twinge-y, I’m pleased to report, given how much of it I’ve been doing. Gotta make the most of it when you can, haven’t you?

  6. Yes, it was keyhole, thankfully. (Even the prospect of an extended skive off work didn’t make the possibility of the open version inviting…) And hey, someone else who’s had this op! They’re everywhere (at least one blogger I visit regularly has had it done in the last few months)!

Leave a Reply

