Trackbacks not working

It seems that the blog can receive (manual) trackbacks but not pingbacks (no, I don’t fully understand the distinction either; no doubt I’ll find out in the course of trying to solve the problem…). And I don’t think it’s sending them properly either (actually, I’ve just spotted one sent in the last couple of days, so it looks as though that’s OK).

(I have already checked that the necessary boxes are ticked in admin…)

At first I wondered if it was associated with my WP upgrade to v2.0 (the WP support forums indicate that some people had problems with this), but on checking I found I did the upgrade back in January and I had some trackbacks/pingbacks after that, till it dried up in February.

It’s a bit of a mystery to me. Anyone got any suggestions?

(… Still don’t understand the difference between TB and PB – except that it’s different technology. What the WP codex says seems partly wrong.)

4 thoughts on “Trackbacks not working”

  1. And I seem to have the opposite problem, I’m sending (at least sometimes anyway…) but not receiving. I’m not optimistic that the upgrade will help, but it probably won’t hurt to try. This seems to have been a problem in WP from the start (just look at how often it recurs in the support forums…), and mine have always been a bit hit and miss. Ugg.

    Thanks for the link!

Leave a Reply

