So I don’t do memes

Standard

Well, hardly ever. But after all, rules is made for broken.*

This is the five early (pre-1800) women authors meme, picked up from Philobiblon…

Already in:

Bardiac’s Starter:
Behn, Aphra – Oroonoko
Christine de Pisan (aka Pizan) – The Book of the City of Ladies
Julian of Norwich – Revelations of Divine Love
Locke, Anne (aka Ane Lok, etc) – A Meditation of a Penitent Sinner
Marie de France – The Lais of Marie de France

Dr. Virago:
The Paston Women – The Paston Letters
Margery Kempe – The Book of Margery Kempe
Anonymous – The Floure and the Leafe (Her reasoning for this is on her blog)
Lady Mary Wroth – Poems

La Lecturess :
Anne Askew – The Examinations of Anne Askew
Mary Sidney – Psalms
Anne Finch – Poems
Katherine Phillips – Poems
Teresa of Avila – Life

Amanda:
Bradstreet, Anne: collected poems
Sor Juana Inés de la Cruz: Fama y obras póstumas
Lanyer, Aemilia: Salve Deus Rex Judaeorum
Wroth, Lady Mary: Urania

Medieval Woman:
Trotula – The Diseases of Women
Female Troubador Poets:- La Comtessa de Dia – “A chantar m’er” & other Trobairitz poetry excerpted.
Hrostvitha of Gandersheim (c.930-c.1002) – Plays Gallicanus & Dulcitius

Heo Cwaeth:
Hildegard von Bingen (1098-1179) Scivias and Liber Divinorum Operum
Rachel Speght (1597 – Some time after 1621) Mouzell for Melastomus and Mortalities Memorandum
Anna Comnena (1093-1153) The Alexiad
Frau Ava (1060-1127) First named German poetess. “Johannes,” “Leben Jesu,” “Antichrist,” “Das Jüngste Gericht”
Dhuoda (9th century, inexact dates) Handbook for William: A Carolingian Woman’s Counsel for Her Son

Philobiblon’s additions:
Sei Shonagon, The Pillow Book of Sei Shonagon, extracts here and here
Eliza Haywood The History of Miss Betsey Thoughtless (1751)
Chen Tong, Tan Ze and Qian Yi, authors of The Peony Pavilion (1694)
Isabella Whitney, A Letter… in meeter by a yonge Gentilwoman: to her unconstant lover (1567) and A Sweet Nosegay, or Pleasant Posy (1573)
Elizabeth Elstob, The Rudiments of Grammar for the English-Saxon Tongue (1715).

And I’ll add these for you:

Mary Sidney Herbert, The triumph of death (c.1600) (translation of Petrarch)
Margaret Cavendish, Duchess of Newcastle, The atomic poems (1653)
Jane Sharp, The midwives book (1671) (If you have access: Full text from EEBO)
Sarah Fyge Egerton, The female advocate (1686)
Mary Collier, The woman’s labour (1739)

…………

*Except the one about blogging while drunk.

9 thoughts on “So I don’t do memes

  1. It’s very strange to me that in all of the posts surrounding this meme, I’ve yet to see Elizabeth Cary’s Tragedy of Mariam mentioned. Is it just because I study drama that I find this odd? I suspect this is one of the most-often taught and studied early modern texts by a woman. I wonder why it seems to have simultaneously slipped so many minds?

  2. Hieronimo, I can’t speak for any of the lit people, but I hardly know it at all. (But I’m even more useless about early modern drama than early modern poetry. Which is saying something.) I can’t find an open-access online edition (or even extracts) of it either, which is unusual for a text that’s being taught frequently. The work of many of the early modern authors mentioned so far is increasingly easy to find online, and that certainly influenced my choices.

  3. Intersting–I guess it’s just more known to lit people. But check out this edition, which indicates how widely taught the play has become. Paired with Othello in an edition for students. (There used to be an edition freely available online but the Brown Women Writers Project just recently went behind a subscription wall, I think.)

    It’s a very interesting play, by the way, not only as a spin on tragedy but also for thinking through some complex intersections between gender and race in the period.

  4. Hi Sharon!

    Thanks for contributing to the meme. It’s grown FAR beyond my wildest imagination. I’m starting to try to pull things together for a fuller post now. :)

  5. I’m aware of Tragedy of Mariam Hieronimo, and I’ve read about it (although I confess I haven’t read it). I wanted to include the non-European women who came to mind, and had to include Isabella, since she’s my favourite writer, and I’m also rather fond of Elstob, and Haywood … so I guess it is just a question of favourites really.

  6. Natalie,
    Understandable certainly. It was just weird to me that she hadn’t appeared on any of the numerous lists; Mariam is one of the first texts that popped into my head when I read the original meme, so I started to wonder if it was in fact less central to current Renaissance literary studies than I thought…

  7. No worries, Hieronimo, I picked up Miriam from one of your suggestions.

    I’ve read it, and even tried to teach it, and found it difficult and not really rewarding for me, either way. The biography by Cary’s daughters, though, is fascinating.

    Thanks for the suggestions, all :)

  8. I added mine in the comments at Philobiblon:

    1. Clara Reeve (English, 1729-1807), _The Old English Baron_ (1778), _The School for Widows_ (1791), and other books

    2. Betje Wolff (Dutch, 1738-1804), _Historie van mejuffrouw Sara Burgerhart_ (1782)

    3. Maria Gaetana Agnesi (Italian, 1718-1799), wrote and published mathematical and philosophical treatises, including _Propositiones Philosophicae_ (1738) and _Analytical Institutions_

    4. Luise Kulmus Gottsched (German, 1713-1762), plays, poetry, translation, also co-edited a dictionary with her husband

    5. Mercy Otis Warren (American, 1728-1814), satirical plays, poetry

Leave a Reply

