Thomas Carew also has a few demands

To Another Damned Medievalist…

MEDIOCRITY IN LOVE REJECTED

GIVE me more love or more disdain ;
   The torrid or the frozen zone
Bring equal ease unto my pain,
   The temperate affords me none :
Either extreme of love or hate,
Is sweeter than a calm estate.

Give me a storm ; if it be love,
   Like DanaĆ« in that golden shower,
I swim in pleasure ; if it prove
   Disdain, that torrent will devour
My vulture-hopes ; and he’s possess’d
Of heaven, that’s but from hell released.
      Then crown my joys or cure my pain :
      Give me more love or more disdain.

4 thoughts on “Thomas Carew also has a few demands”

  1. Er, yes. I have papers to mark (promised to be returned on Monday), a dog to walk and bathe, and a wall in my office that must be painted in order to get the bloody house on the market …

    But this is more fun!

  2. Another great choice. I have the advantage that all my marking is over (booyah! as the cartoon characters say) and I am enjoying gearing back up for my research/writing.

Comments are closed.